Reform of the National Curriculum for England and Japanese Language - Focusing on the Introduction of Foreign Languages Learning for Pupils at Key Stage -

Bibliographic Information

Other Title
  • イングランドのカリキュラム改革と日本語教育-初等教育への外国語教育必修化を中心として-
  • イングランド ノ カリキュラム カイカク ト ニホンゴ キョウイク : ショトウ キョウイク エ ノ ガイコクゴ キョウイク ヒッシュウカ オ チュウシン ト シテ

Search this article


As of September 2014, the new National Curriculum has been implemented in England. The biggest change for foreign language education is to make foreign language learning statutory for pupils at Key Stage 2 (from Year 3 to Year 6). At first, the Department for Education proposed that primary schools teach one or more of French, German, Italian, Mandarin, Spanish or a classical language (Latin or Ancient Greek). The Japan Foundation London was concerned about the proposal, as it might prevent school children from learning Japanese in primary schools, and requested that the Department withdraw the list in cooperation with other stakeholders. In the end, the list of seven languages was abandoned andany language is allowed to be taught in primary schools. In this paper, we describe the process of the Curriculum reform from the viewpoint of practitioners engaging in Japanese language education in the UK.



Report a problem

Back to top